gawad kalasag awarding 2015

Tanay Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (MDRRMC) was recently awarded the 2015 Gawad Kalasag for 1st-3rd Class Municipality LDRRMC Category in Region IV-A during the recognition rites held last January 14, 2016 at Development Academy of the Philippines in Tagaytay City.

Tanay MDRRM Council’s entry was forwarded by the OCD 4a to the National Level where it will compete with fellow regional winners.

Tanay’s Kalasag win also automatically satisfied the Disaster Preparedness core component required to win the coveted Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) award given by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Hon. Rafael A. Tanjuatco, Municipal Mayor and MDRRMC Chair, Mr. Rafael A. Vicente, MDRRM Officer, Mr. Berlin P. Flores and Mr. Berlito Bati, Jr., MDRRM staff, received the award on behalf of Tanay MDRRM Council.

Tanay MDRRMC, a first-time entrant to the award, bested other regional finalists San Mateo MDRRMC, Taytay MDRRMC, and Silang, Cavite MDRRMC.

The Regional Selection Committee was composed of representatives from the OCD 4a, DSWD 4a, NEDA, NAPC, and DILG 4a.

During the validation, Tanay MDRRM Council was lauded by the selection committee for its DRRM best practices, particularly its relocation and resettlement of residents in at-risk areas to housing projects by the NHA, Gawad Kalinga, and DSWD.

Tanay’s permanent evacuation facilities at Barangay Kat-Bayani was also cited by the selection committee as an excellent disaster preparedness effort that must be replicated in other LGUs in Calabarzon.

Gawad Kalasag is given annually by the Department of National Defense through the Office of the Civil Defense and NDRRMC to local DRRM councils (Barangay, Municipal/City, and Provincial), hospitals, schools, and private sector organizations for their outstanding DRRM efforts and programs.

The award also recognizes heroic and humanitarian actions of individuals.

The award was launched in 1998 and has since been given to 56 Local DRRMCs, 59 groups/institutions, 19 NGOs/CSOs, and 16 individuals.