atop tanay winner

The Municipality of Tanay, through the collaborative efforts of the LGU key officials and offices, has been awarded as the 1stRunner-up in this year’s Search for Best Tourism-Oriented LGU (Municipality Category) during the 11thAssociation of Tourism Officers of the Philippines – Department of Tourism (ATOP-DOT) Pearl Awards Night held at Royce Hotel, Clarkfield, Pampanga on October 6, 2016. The Awards Night was heldin line with ATOP’s 17th National Convention and Election of Officers.

Having only two (2) shortlisted finalists for the Municipality Category, LGU-Tanay fell behind the Municipality of Palompon, Leyte which has been awarded Best Tourism-Oriented LGU for three (3) consecutive years, hence ATOP promoting the latter to the Hall of Fame Awardees.

Meanwhile, despite its fall-back from its co-contender in the search, Tanay still considers the win as a back-to-back victory as Tanay Tourism Officer, Mr. Jeff Pino, was hailed as the Best Tourism Officer for the year 2015. Moreover, it is yet another feather in the cap under the tutelage of the Tanjuatco Administration as Tanay has garnered other Regional and National Awards these past few weeks.

The award was received by Hon. Rex Manuel Tanjuatco together with Ligangmga Barangay President, Hon. Ruel P. Estrella, Mr.Pino, and Tour Guide and Recreation Association (TARA) President,Mr.Medel Mendez.