Tanay MDRRM Council received another Regional Gawad Kalasag nod as 2nd Place Best Local DRRM Council (1st-3rd Class Municipality) during the awarding rites held August 24 at the Development Academy of the Philippines in Tagaytay City.

gawad kalasag tanay 2017

Vice Mayor Jaime Vista received the trophy and cash prize worth P30,000 on behalf of the Council.

It was the third straight year that the Council has won in the said contest. The Council was also last year’s second place winner in the said category, while it placed first in 2015 during its initial try.

Carmona MDRRM Council did a repeat of last year’s performance as it re-emerged as first place winner. Meanwhile, Pagsanjan MDRRMC, a first-time entrant, landed as third best in the category.

During the traditional flag raising ceremonies, Tanay MDRRM Council Chairperson, Mayor Rex Manuel C. Tanjuatco, expressed his gratitude to all Council members for their active involvement in its programs, projects, and activities (PPAs).

He also rallied the entire LGU workforce to continuously support the Council’s efforts in the Four Thematic Areas of disaster risk reduction and management, namely: Prevention and Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery and Rehabilitation.